Honest comparisons · Australia

Accounting software for a new business, compared on the facts.

Entry plans, standard prices, limits, GST and BAS, payroll and bank feeds, taken from each provider's own Australian pages on 30 October 2026. Listed alphabetically. There are no affiliate links on this page.

SoftwareEntry planStandard priceLimitsBank feedsGST and BASPayroll (STP)The catch
MYOBSolo (mobile app) or Business LiteSolo A$99 a year; Lite A$315 a year (monthly not shown)Unlimited invoices; Solo 1 user, Lite unlimited usersUp to 2Solo tracks GST; Lite lodges BASSolo: none. Lite: A$3 per employee a month, max 2Solo is mobile only and its FAQ says you can't change plan later
QuickBooks OnlineSimple StartStandard price not shown in the page text we readUnlimited invoices; 1 user plus your accountantYesTrack GST, e-lodge BASAdd-on: A$6 per active employee a month, incl. GSTSimple Start doesn't handle supplier bills
Reckon OneAccounting PlusA$24 a monthNo invoice limit stated; unlimited usersYesGST reporting for BASOptional add-on; price not statedAfter an offer ends, the price becomes "the RRP applying at that time"
XeroIgniteIgnite price not shown on the pages we read; the main table starts at Comprehensive, A$107 a month incl. GST20 invoices a month on IgniteYes (some direct feeds may cost extra)Track GST, lodge BAS"Ready for STP"; headcount and price not statedTransactions synced from apps (like your shop) can count toward the 20-invoice cap
Zoho BooksFree; Standard is the first paid planFree A$0 (while revenue is under A$50,000); Standard A$19.80 a month incl. GSTFree: 1,000 invoices a year, 1 user plus accountantStandard and above onlyGST tracking and BAS generationNot offered for AustraliaThe free plan has no live bank feeds

Australian dollars. We list standard prices, not introductory offers, because offers change every few weeks; most providers run one. "Not stated" means the provider's page we checked didn't say. Check before you sign up. On a phone, scroll the table sideways.

Good to know

Before you pay for software.

You may not need it yet

If you're testing an idea, a simple spreadsheet and a separate bank account cover most of what a new sole trader needs. Software earns its cost once invoices, bills or receipts start piling up.

BAS only matters once you're registered for GST

You must register for GST once your GST turnover reaches A$75,000 (ATO). Below that, BAS features may not matter to you yet.

Your accountant's software matters

If you use a bookkeeper or accountant, ask which software they work in. Sharing access is easier than converting files at tax time.

How we made this

We read each provider's own Australian pricing and product pages on 30 October 2026 and copied the facts. Where a page didn't show a price or contradicted itself, we say so rather than guess. There are no affiliate links on this page today. If we ever add one, we'll say so at the top, and it won't change the order or the facts.

General information only, not tax or financial advice. Her Little Empire · ABN 38 813 430 864 · Australia